DUI

DUI: The act or crime of driving while under the influence of alcohol. Driving under the influence impairs the driver’s ability to drive safely. Many accidents and deaths have been caused as a direct result of driver under the influence.

What are the penalties for a DUI in California?

The penalties for a DUI in California will vary depending on the circumstances of the case, but generally, the sentencing guidelines for a DUI conviction are as follows.

1st Offense2nd Offense3rd Offense4th Offense*
Jail4 days to 6 months10 days to 1 year120 days to 1 year16 months
Fines and PenaltiesUp to $1,000Up to $1,800Up to $1,800Up to $18,000
License Suspension30 days to 10 months2 years**3 years4 years
IID*** RequiredYes, in some countiesYesYesYes
4th Offense* = (within 10 months of third DUI)
2 Years** = (which can be 3 years reduced to 1)
IID*** = Interlock Ignition Device

Blood Alcohol Level Chart

Find your blood alcohol level by using the chart below.

One drink is considered:

  • (1) 12 fl oz beer
  • (1) 5 fl oz glass of wine
  • (1) 1.5 fl oz shot of hard liquor
BLUE = Impaired Driver | RED = Legally Drunk Driver
WeightNumber
of Drinks
123456789
1000.0320.0650.097.0129.01620.1940.2260.2580.291
1200.0270.0540.0810.1080.1350.1610.1880.2150.242
1400.0230.0460.0690.0920.1150.1380.1610.1840.207
1600.0200.0400.0600.0800.1010.1210.1410.1610.181
1800.0180.0360.0540.0720.0900.1080.1260.1440.162
2000.0160.0320.0480.0640.0800.0970.1130.1290.145
2200.0150.0290.0440.0580.0730.0880.1020.1170.131
2400.0140.0270.0400.0530.0670.0810.0950.1080.121

This table is provided as a reference and it should not be relied upon to determine whether you are capable of operating a motor vehicle. Always keep in mind that there are a number of variables that can influence whether you are legally qualified to drive.

References: http://dui.drivinglaws.org/california.php